Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

Bandits cap off historic year at AGM

BROOKS, AB (June 28, 2019) ? The Brooks & District Junior A Hockey Association, which owns and operates the Brooks Bandits of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), celebrated its best-ever season on the ice, and reported one of its best seasons off the ice as well at its annual general meeting this week.

The organization posted a fiscal year surplus of $76,231, its first surplus in four years, and best financial result in the last six years.

The result was primarily due to a 17 percent year-over-year increase, driven by surging ticket sales, the team?s best-ever result in corporate partnerships, and an all-time high in merchandise sales.

The Bandits also attracted the best regular season crowds in the last five years, and the second-highest regular season attendance total in franchise history, with an average of 1,411.

?I cannot let this opportunity pass without well-deserved recognition of our staff, led by Ryan Papaioannou,? association President Paul Seaton stated at the meeting. ?For Ryan, Scott [Cunningham], and Karyn [Fanstone] ? comment is not necessary ? the team results say it all. However, it most certainly does not stop there. Those volunteers that worked early and late during the national championship will have observed an office staff that worked relentless hours. Tyler King, Terri-Lea Yeaman and Nathan Crosby were unwavering stalwarts and dedicated contributors.

?We are a business. The greatest asset of a business is its staff. There is little wonder our success continues.?

In addition to the financial report, the organization also renewed its board of directors, with three new members of the community joining the team.

Director-at-large Mike Ibach was nominated to join the executive as its new Secretary, replacing James Mitchell who was acclaimed as the new Vice-President. Seaton returned as President while Murray Hauck will continue on as Treasurer.

For directors-at-large, James Unchelenko and Kelly Tanigami joined and rejoined the board respectively on two-year terms, while Duane Perkins and Ryan Papaioannou were re-elected to two-year terms. April Fleury was acclaimed to serve a one-year term, while Lindsey Lachapelle, Reg Swartz, and Sheila Laverty will enter the second year of their two-year terms.

The financial results of the organization were entirely separate from the 2019 National Junior A Championship; final results and figures from that tournament are expected to be compiled later this summer.