Bandits head coach Ryan Papaioannou nominated for CJHL Coach of the Year

BROOKS, AB (May 7, 2019) ? After being named Coach of the Year for the Alberta Junior Hockey League for the second time in his career, Brooks Bandits head coach and general manager Ryan Papaioannou has been nominated for the Canadian Junior Hockey League?s Darcy Haugan / Mark Cross Memorial Award as national Coach of the Year, the CJHL announced today.

Papaioannou was nominated alongside Joe Martin of the BCHL?s Merritt Centennials, Jesse Winchester of the CCHL?s Brockville Braves, Blake Spiller of the MJHL?s Portage Terriers, and Mike Tarantino of the OJHL?s Oakville Blades.

The award will be presented during the NHL Coaches Association Global Coaches? Clinic on June 20 in Vancouver, B.C.

Papaioannou previously won the national award in 2012-13 after leading the Bandits to their then-best season ever. This past season, Papaioannou?s Bandits set new AJHL records for wins (57), consecutive wins (31), points in the standings (114), and was the fifth-highest scoring team in league history, with 334 goals scored.