Simon Gravel commits to Canisius College

BROOKS, AB (December 8, 2018) – The Brooks Bandits of the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) are pleased to announce that 1999-born forward Simon Gravel (Boucherville, QC) has committed to attend and play for Canisius College.

Located in Buffalo, New York, the Canisius Golden Griffins compete in the NCAA’s Division I Atlantic Hockey conference under second-year head coach Trevor Large.

Gravel, 19, has been among the AJHL’s most dynamic offensive threats ever since the start of the 2018-19 campaign. Currently, he sits 9th in the league in points with 35 in 29 games. His 18 goals rank fifth in the league, and second on his team. He is currently riding a six game point streak, with eight goals and three assists in that span, and has recorded two hat tricks, four total multi-goal games, and ten total multi-point games.

Before joining the Bandits, the 5’10”, 187lb forward scored 49 points (19 goals, 30 assists) in 35 games for the Saint-Hyacinthe Lauréats of the Quebec College Hockey League (QCHL) last season, before joining Collège Français de Longueuil of the Quebec Junior Hockey League (QJHL) for the playoffs, in which he scored 13 points in 11 games and helped the team win a league title and qualify for the Fred Page Cup regional championship tournament. He then committed to the Bandits in the off-season, joining the team at the same time as his former Saint-Hyacinthe teammate William Lemay (Marieville, QC).

Former Bandit forward Jesse Pereira (Fort Erie, ON) is currently in his third year with Canisius, while Gravel’s teammate Jakob Lee (Owen Sound, ON) is also committed to the school.

The Bandit organization would like to send its sincere congratulations to Simon, and his family, on his commitment, and looks forward to his continuing contributions to the team’s run to the 2019 National Junior A Championship.

Gravel is the 14th player on the 2018-19 Bandits roster committed to an NCAA Division I institution, joining:
• Nathan Plessis (Brown University)
• William Lemay (University of Vermont)
• Andrew Lucas (University of Vermont)
• Brandon Scanlin (University of Nebraska Omaha)
• Luke Bast (University of North Dakota)
• Mack Hancock (University of Alaska Anchorage)
• Ray Christy (Colorado College)
• Nick Hale (College of the Holy Cross)
• Jakob Lee (Canisius College)
• Andranik Armstrong (University of Massachusetts-Lowell)
• Tyler Campbell (Dartmouth College)
• Simon Boyko (University of Vermont)
• Arnaud Vachon (Colgate University)